Cooperation with IFC in Providing Transaction Advisory Services to Develop PPP based Wind Power Projects is established

Washington, the United States of America, April 23, 2022

IFC has signed a Transaction Advisory Service Agreement to support Uzbekistan in construction of 500 MW wind power plants. This agreement will help the country transition towards clean energy and meet a growing demand for electricity.

IFC will advise Uzbekistan as it structures a public-private partnership (PPP) to mobilize private sector experience and capital to construct and operate up to 500 megawatts wind power plants across Uzbekistan.

The project will contribute to Uzbekistan’s target of generating 25 percent of its electricity from renewable sources by 2026.

It should be noted that the Republic of Uzbekistan also cooperates with the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) to develop wind energy. On December 17, 2021, project agreements were signed with “ACWA Power” of Saudi Arabia, the winner of the tender for the construction of a 100 MW wind power plant in Karauzak district of the Republic of Karakalpakstan on the basis of PPP as part of 1000 MW Wind Cooperation Program with EBRD.

Wind is one of the world’s fastest-growing and affordable sources of new power generation, with over 743 gigawatts of installed capacity. Uzbekistan has set a goal of developing five gigawatts of solar and three gigawatts of wind capacity by 2026.

Hela Cheikhrouhou, IFC’s Regional Vice President for the Middle East, Central Asia, Turkey, Afghanistan, and Pakistan, said: “Reliable and affordable, renewable energy is crucial for Uzbekistan’s future. It can be an engine of economic growth, while countering the looming threat of climate change.”

IFC has been advising the government of Uzbekistan on attracting private investments in the energy sector since 2018. Supporting renewable energy projects and opening the sector to private investments is a pillar of IFC’s work in Uzbekistan and the Central Asia region. The project is one of several competitive tenders in the energy sector being implemented by the government of Uzbekistan in partnership with IFC.

For information: IFC helped tender out and finance a privately developed 100-megawatt solar power plant in the Navoi region that produces enough electricity to power more than 30,000 households;

Also, with the support of the IFC, tenders for 3 more PPP projects are underway. These are:

  • Project for the construction of a solar photovoltaic power plant with a capacity of 250 megawatts in Alat district of Bukhara region (initial cost of the project – 213 million US dollars; project period – 25 years);
  • Project for the construction of a solar photovoltaic power plant with a capacity of 100 megawatts in Khozarasp district of Khorezm region (initial cost of the project – 61 million US dollars; project period – 25 years);
  • The project for the construction of a solar photovoltaic power plant with a capacity of 150 megawatts in Pop district of Namangan region (initial cost of the project – 92 million US dollars; project period – 25 years).

In addition, with the support of the Asian Development Bank, the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development and other partners, the Republic of Uzbekistan is working on the construction of additional wind farms with a capacity of at least 1,500 megawatts and solar power plants with a capacity of 750 megawatts in 2022-2026.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Matn o'lchami

УСТАНОВЛЕННО СОТРУДНИЧЕСТВО С МЕЖДУНАРОДНОЙ ФИНАНСОВОЙ КОРПОРАЦИЕЙ ПО ОКАЗАНИЮ КОНСАЛТИНГОВЫХ УСЛУГ ПО РЕАЛИЗАЦИИ ВЕТРОЭНЕРГЕТИЧЕСКИХ ГЧП ПРОЕКТОВ В УЗБЕКИСТАНЕ

Вашингтон, США, 23 апреля 2022 г.

Подписано соглашение с Международной финансовой корпорацией (МФК) об оказании консультационных услуг в целях строительства в Республике Узбекистан ветряных электростанций мощностью 500 мегаватт. Это соглашение будет способствовать переходу страны на зеленую энергию и удовлетворению спроса на электроэнергию.

МФК будет консультировать Узбекистан в структурировании государственно-частного партнерства (ГЧП) с целью мобилизации опыта и капитала частного сектора для строительства и эксплуатации ветряных электростанций мощностью до 500 мегаватт в некоторых регионах страны. Проект будет способствовать достижению цели Узбекистана по производству 25% электроэнергии из возобновляемых источников к 2026 году.

Следует отметить, что Республика Узбекистан также сотрудничает с Европейским банком реконструкции и развития (ЕБРР) по развитию ветроэнергетики. В рамках консультационных услуг ЕБРР по развитию 1000 МВт ветряных электростанций в Республике Узбекистан 17 декабря 2021 года подписаны проектные соглашения с компанией «Acwa Power» Саудовской Аравии, победителем тендера на строительство ветропарка мощностью 100 МВт в Караузякском районе Республики Каракалпакстан на основе ГЧП.

Ветер является одним из самых быстрорастущих и доступных источников новой генерации электроэнергии в мире с установленной мощностью более 743 гигаватт. Узбекистан поставил перед собой цель разработать пять гигаватт солнечной и три гигаватт ветровой мощности к 2026 году.

Хела Шейхроухи, региональный вице-президент МФК на Ближнем Востоке, в Центральной Азии, Турции, Афганистане и Пакистане, отметила: «Доступная возобновляемая энергия имеет решающее значение для будущего Узбекистана. Она может стать двигателем экономического роста, содействую глобальным усилиям по борьбе с изменением климата».

МФК консультирует правительство Узбекистана по вопросам привлечения частных инвестиций в энергетический сектор с 2018 года. Поддержка проектов в области возобновляемых источников энергии и открытие сектора для частных инвестиций является основой работы МФК в Узбекистане и регионе Центральной Азии. Проект является одним из нескольких конкурсных тендеров в энергетическом секторе, реализуемых правительством Узбекистана в партнерстве с МФК.

В частности, IFC помогла провести тендер и профинансировать частную солнечную электростанцию мощностью 100 мегаватт в Навоийской области, которая производит достаточно электроэнергии для обеспечения электроэнергией более 30 000 домохозяйств;

Также при поддержке МФК проходят тендеры еще по 3 проектам ГЧП.

– Проект строительства солнечной фотоэлектрической электростанции мощностью 250 МВт в Алатском районе Бухарской области (предварительная стоимость проекта – 213 млн долларов США; срок реализации проекта – 25 лет);

– Проект строительства солнечной фотоэлектрической электростанции мощностью 100 МВт в Хозараспском районе Хорезмской области (предварительная стоимость проекта – 61 млн долларов США; срок реализации проекта – 25 лет);

– Проект строительства солнечной фотоэлектрической электростанции мощностью 150 МВт в Папском районе Наманганской области (предварительная стоимость проекта – 92 млн долларов США; срок реализации проекта – 25 лет).

Кроме того, при поддержке Азиатского банка развития, Европейского банка реконструкции и развития и других партнеров в Республике Узбекистан ведется работа по строительству дополнительных ветровых электростанций мощностью не менее 1500 МВт и солнечных электростанций мощностью 750 МВт в 2022-2026 гг.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Matn o'lchami