Private Sector Development Remains Critical to Uzbekistan Reforms — ADB President

Private sector development remains critical to ongoing reforms in Uzbekistan and the Asian Development Bank (ADB) will continue to help the country strengthen its private sector as it pursues inclusive and sustainable growth,- said ADB President Masatsugu Asakawa.

“ADB firmly supports Uzbekistan’s continued prioritization of structural reforms while boosting private sector engagement in the economy,” said Mr. Asakawa on his first visit to Uzbekistan as ADB President. “We’re committed to bringing the private sector to the frontline of economic development. In addition to financial resources, we will continue supporting reforms and helping state-owned enterprises in strategic sectors including banking, energy, and water supply.”

Uzbekistan is aiming to transfer 20% of public services to the private sector and expand the share of the private sector in its gross domestic product to 80% by 2026. ADB is active in the financial, infrastructure, and agribusiness sectors of Uzbekistan’s private sector.

Uzbekistan is ADB’s largest client for public–private partnership (PPP) transaction advisory support. The bank has successfully closed three transaction advisory mandates in renewable energy, water and wastewater, and district heating in Uzbekistan. ADB is working to develop new PPP projects in health care, solid waste, education, wastewater, and renewable energy. ADB has also supported the government to revise the country’s PPP law in line with international best practices and create a stronger enabling environment for private participation in infrastructure.

Mr. Asakawa highlighted the importance of Uzbekistan’s ongoing green transition for sustainable development. The country is aiming to derive 25% of its energy from renewable sources by 2030 and ADB is contributing to this goal through solar, wind, and hydro energy projects. Uzbekistan’s pursuit of a greener economy could bring more trade with international partners and attract foreign direct investment.

Mr. Asakawa also emphasized the opportunities created by regional cooperation and integration as the countries of Central Asia recover from the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic. As a member of the Central Asia Regional Economic Cooperation (CAREC) Program, double-landlocked Uzbekistan benefits from trade and transport connectivity, and regional energy trading.

ADB has supported CAREC initiatives since 2002 and is currently helping to rehabilitate 240 kilometers of highway between Kungrad in northwest Uzbekistan and Daut-Ata in Kazakhstan. The bank is also working to improve regional energy trading and develop new cooperation among national power systems.

Uzbekistan joined ADB in 1995 and the bank has since committed loans, grants, and technical assistance of more than $10 billion to the country.

ADB is committed to achieving a prosperous, inclusive, resilient, and sustainable Asia and the Pacific, while sustaining its efforts to eradicate extreme poverty. Established in 1966, it is owned by 68 members—49 from the region.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Matn o'lchami

РАЗВИТИЕ ЧАСТНОГО СЕКТОРА ПО-ПРЕЖНЕМУ ИМЕЕТ РЕШАЮЩЕЕ ЗНАЧЕНИЕ ДЛЯ РЕФОРМ В УЗБЕКИСТАНЕ – ПРЕЗИДЕНТ АБР

Развитие частного сектора по-прежнему имеет решающее значение для текущих реформ в Узбекистане, и Азиатский банк развития (АБР) будет продолжать помогать стране в укреплении частного сектора в стремлении к инклюзивному и устойчивому росту, заявил Президент АБР Масацугу Асакава.

«АБР твердо поддерживает приоритет Узбекистана в отношении структурных реформ при одновременном повышении участия частного сектора в экономике», — сказал г-н Асакава во время своего первого визита в Узбекистан в качестве Президента АБР. «Мы привержены вывести частный сектор на передний план экономического развития. Помимо финансовых ресурсов, мы продолжим поддерживать реформы и помогать государственным предприятиям в стратегических секторах, включая банковское дело, энергетику и водоснабжение».

Узбекистан имеет целью передать 20% государственных услуг частному сектору и увеличить долю частного сектора в своем валовом внутреннем продукте до 80% к 2026 году. АБР активно работает в финансовом, инфраструктурном и сельскохозяйственном секторах частного сектора Узбекистана.

Узбекистан является крупнейшим клиентом АБР по консультационной поддержке по сделкам государственно-частного партнерства (ГЧП). Банк успешно закрыл три мандата на консультирование по сделкам в области возобновляемых источников энергии, водоснабжения и сточных вод, а также централизованного теплоснабжения в Узбекистане. АБР работает над разработкой новых проектов ГЧП в области здравоохранения, твердых бытовых отходов, образования, сточных вод и возобновляемых источников энергии. АБР также оказывает поддержку Правительству в пересмотре закона страны о ГЧП в соответствии с передовой международной практикой и создании более благоприятной среды для участия частного сектора в инфраструктуре.

Г-н Асакава подчеркнул важность продолжающегося «зеленого» перехода Узбекистана для устойчивого развития. Страна намерена получать 25% своей энергии из возобновляемых источников к 2030 году, и АБР вносит свой вклад в достижение этой цели посредством проектов в области солнечной, ветровой и гидроэнергетики. Стремление Узбекистана к более экологичной экономике может привести к расширению торговли с международными партнерами и привлечению прямых иностранных инвестиций.

Г-н Асакава также подчеркнул возможности, создаваемые региональным сотрудничеством и интеграцией по мере того, как страны Центральной Азии восстанавливаются после пандемии коронавирусной болезни (COVID-19). Будучи участником Программы Центральноазиатского регионального экономического сотрудничества (ЦАРЭС), Узбекистан, не имеющий выхода к морю, извлекает выгоду из торговых и транспортных связей, а также региональной торговли энергоносителями.

АБР поддерживает инициативы ЦАРЭС с 2002 года и в настоящее время помогает в реконструкции 240 км автомобильных дорог между Кунградом на северо-западе Узбекистана и Даут-Атой в Казахстане. Банк также работает над улучшением региональной торговли электроэнергией и развитием нового сотрудничества между национальными энергосистемами.

Узбекистан присоединился к АБР в 1995 году, и с тех пор банк предоставил стране займы, гранты и техническое содействие на сумму более 10 млрд. долларов.

АБР привержен достижению процветающего, всеобъемлющего и устойчивого Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона, продолжая при этом усилия по искоренению крайней нищеты.  АБР основан в 1966 году, его членами являются 68 стран, 49 из которых находятся в регионе.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Matn o'lchami